Department of Library Services
+27 12 420 2235/6

Welcome to the Department of Library Services

The library of the University of Pretoria is considered one of the best university libraries in South Africa. It provides a comprehensive information service for the University's students and staff members.

The Library focuses on supporting the learning needs of users in the Learning Centre and providing customised research support through Faculty Libraries and two Research Commons (Main library RC | Groenkloof RC) in order to facilitate information and knowledge management in the context of the University's core business. The main library is comprised of the Learning Centre, Special Collections Unit, Library Technical Services and the following faculty libraries:

- Economic & Management Sciences
- Natural & Agricultural Sciences
- Engineering & Built Environment
- Humanities (including Music)
- Theology

The other faculty libraries include the Oliver R. Tambo Law Library, the Education Library (Groenkloof), the Mamelodi Library, the Jotello F. Soga Library for Veterinary Science and the Health Sciences Libraries (Medical Library, Basic Medical Sciences & Dentistry Library, Klinikala, Weskoppies and Witbank) which are spread across five locations.

The Department of Library Services strives to be a leader in providing information and knowledge management for academic excellence. Therefore, in addition to the traditional library services, the Library offers a holistic e-service to its users, including e-books, e-journals, an institutional repository, customised web pages, full-text digitised local collections, a digital reference service and a MakerSpace.